2016 College Sector Educator Award Recipients

2016 College Sector Educator Award Recipients Composite
Holly Catalfamo, Nancy Harvey, Michelle Kwas, Janice Simcoe, Kathryn Weatherall

The Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 College Sector Educator Award:

Holly Catalfamo, Professor/Coordinator, Human Resources Programs, Niagara College ;
Nancy Harvey, Faculty, Adult Learning Program, School of Access, Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC), Akerley Campus;
Michelle Kwas, Psychology Department Chair and Professor, John Abbott College;
Janice Simcoe, Chair and Co-Leader, Eyēʔ Sqậ’lewen: The Centre for Indigenous Education & Community Connections, Camosun College; and
Kathryn Weatherall, Faculty/Program Coordinator, Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSCN) Collaborative Program, Georgian College

This Award recognizes exceptional teachers who have made quality efforts to promote and support the development of their peers with regard to teaching excellence.

Submissions were encouraged from any educator actively teaching in the Canadian college sector. Nominees were asked to provide evidence of their own teaching excellence as well as participation in activities that support the teaching excellence of peers. Examples of evidence provided by these award winners included student, peer and supervisor feedback; leading workshops; presenting at conferences; mentoring others; participating on academic committees; being active in academic associations; researching and publishing related to teaching; and leading projects and program teams.

This year’s award winners represent faculty from across Canada who truly exemplify the best in college teaching excellence and peer mentoring. All of these educational leaders help to support and ensure the success of their teaching colleagues as well as their students. In addition to working at their own colleges, they have provided exceptional leadership regionally, provincially, nationally and internationally in the field of teaching and learning.

Each of the five winners will receive:

  • a certificate in recognition of their leadership;
  • a one-year membership in STLHE; and
  • $1000 towards expenses to attend the annual STLHE Conference.

Recipients will attend a one-day scholarly pre-Conference retreat to celebrate their achievements and to provide an opportunity for these outstanding peer leaders to share experiences and ideas.

STLHE will honour the 2016 College Sector Educator Award winners formally at the STLHE annual conference, hosted this year by Western University and Fanshawe College on June 21 to 24, 2016 in London, Ontario.

Use these links to learn more about the 2016 College Sector Educator Award winners and the College Sector Educator Award.

Tim Loblaw, College Sector Educator Award Coordinator
Robert Lapp, President – STLHE

STLHE is Proudly Partnered With: