2015 College Sector Educator Award Recipients

2015 College Sector Educator Award Recipients Composite
Amy Abe, Valerie Lopes, Julie Mooney, Steve Musson, Chris Whittaker

The Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2015 College Sector Educator Award:

Amy Abe, Instructor & Curriculum Developer, Norquest College;
Valerie Lopes, Director – Teaching and Learning, Seneca College;
Julie Mooney, Educational Developer & Coordinator – Dawson Centre for Peace Education, Dawson College;
Steve Musson, Faculty member – Recreation Studies Department, Langara College; and
Chris Whittaker, Physics Faculty & Science Program Coordinator, Dawson College

This Award recognizes exceptional teachers who have made quality efforts to promote and support the development of their peers with regard to teaching excellence.

Submissions were encouraged from any educator actively teaching in the Canadian college sector. Nominees were asked to provide evidence of their own teaching excellence as well as participation in activities that support the teaching excellence of peers. Examples of evidence provided by these award winners included student, peer and supervisor feedback; leading workshops; presenting at conferences; mentoring others; participating on academic committees; being active in academic associations; researching and publishing related to teaching; and leading projects and program teams.

This year’s award winners represent faculty from across Canada who truly exemplify the best in college teaching excellence and peer mentoring. All of these educational leaders help to support and ensure the success of their teaching colleagues as well as their students. In addition to working at their own colleges, they have provided exceptional leadership regionally, provincially, nationally and internationally in the field of teaching and learning.

Each of the five winners will receive:

  • a certificate in recognition of their leadership;
  • a one-year membership in STLHE; and
  • $1000 towards expenses to attend the annual STLHE Conference.

Recipients will attend a one-day scholarly pre-Conference retreat to celebrate their achievements and to provide an opportunity for these outstanding peer leaders to share experiences and ideas.

STLHE will honour the 2015 College Sector Educator Award winners formally at the awards ceremony held at the STLHE annual conference, hosted this year by University of British Columbia and Simon Fraser University on June 16 to 19, 2015 in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Use these links to learn more about the 2015 College Sector Educator Award winners and the College Sector Educator Award.

Jordanne Christie, College Sector Educator Award Coordinator
Robert Lapp, President – STLHE

STLHE is Proudly Partnered With: