

THE SOCIETY FOR TEACHING AND LEARNING IN HIGHER EDUCATION, IN PARTNERSHIP WITH D2L ANNOUNCE RECIPIENTS OF THE 2025 D2L INNOVATION AWARD IN TEACHING AND LEARNING

Award recognizes post-secondary collaborative teams for their innovative approaches to promoting student-centred teaching and learning.

D2L and the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education are pleased to congratulate all the recipients of the 2025 D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning:

The University of Toronto Embedded Ethics Education Initiative (E3I)

Sheila McIlraith, Diane Horton, David Liu and Steven Coyne

University of Toronto

Homesteaders: Serious Games and the Teaching of Difficult Histories

Benjamin Hoy, Jim Clifford, Paula MacDowell, Judy Jaunzems-Fernuk and Jessy Lee Saas

University of Saskatchewan

Redesigned Curriculum and Active-Learning Pedagogy for Large-Class Introductory Chemistry

Stephen McNeil, Tamara Freeman and Riley Petillion

University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus

Promoting 2SLGBTQ+ Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity in Pharmacy Education (PrideRx)

Tristan Lai, Alex Tang, Lillian Chen and Timothy Lim

University of British Columbia

Indigenous Healthcare Education and Practice Project

Nancy Dalgarno, Shalisa Barton, Bailey Brant, Lindsay Brant, Colson Brumwell, Rachel Burger, Jaylene Cardinal, Jamaica Cass, Nicholas Cofie, Holly Crowson, Michael Cywink, Nancy Dalgarno, Mikaila Da Silva, Jenny DeBruyn, Leslie Flynn, Sarah Funnell, Natalie Graham, Brian Hallam, Amber Hastings-Truelove, Janice Hill, Bryn Hoffman, William Horton, Portia Kalun, Gracie Kehoe,

Stephen Kelly, Laura Kenealy, Kate Kittner, Klodiana Kolomitro, Michelle Krezonoski, Joseph Leblanc, Joeline Lim, Lorrilee McGregor, Trinidad Mena, Jack Moher, Jeanne Mulder, Jason Pennington, Wendy Phillips, Georgina Riel, Sonali Sheth, Christarr Smillie, Mary Smith, Stephen Sparks, Lynsee Stephens, Aaron St. Pierre, Denise Stockley, Jenny Stodola, Jennifer Turnnidge, Giselle Valarezo, Richard van Wylick, Sarita Verma, Sarah Wickett, Yolanda Wanakamik

Queen's University, Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM), University of Toronto and Community Surgeon at Lakeridge Health, Riel Cultural Consulting

Established in 2012, the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, sponsored by D2L, celebrates and recognizes up to five post-secondary collaborative teams each year for their innovative approaches that promote student-centred teaching and learning.

"Each year, this award recognizes the power of collaboration to transform education. By working together across disciplines, this year's recipients have redefined what innovation in teaching and learning can look like—advancing both student success and the scholarship of teaching and learning itself," said Patrick Maher, STLHE Chair of the Board.

"D2L is proud to celebrate the 2025 recipients of the D2L Innovation Award for their collaborative and forward-thinking contributions to transforming the way the world learns," said John Baker, President and CEO of D2L. "These teams are having a big impact — pioneering new approaches, learning experiences, and resources that are improving outcomes for learners."

The 2025 D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning recipients are at the forefront of innovation within their institutions and higher education more broadly.

Recipients of the award receive support to offset the registration and travel costs to attend the annual STLHE conference.

STLHE and D2L will officially welcome these incredible recipients at the annual STLHE conference hosted in Saskatoon, SK, on June 10-13, 2025.

- 30-

Additional information about the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning can be found at: https://www.stlhe.ca/awards/d2l-innovation-award-in-teaching-and-learning/

For more information, please contact:



Natalie Speth
STLHE Communications
communications@stlhe.ca