

THE SOCIETY FOR TEACHING AND LEARNING IN HIGHER EDUCATION, IN PARTNERSHIP WITH 3M CANADA ANNOUNCES THE 2025 3M NATIONAL TEACHING FELLOWSHIP AWARD RECIPIENTS

Recognizing exceptional Canadian post-secondary educators

3M Canada and the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education are pleased to congratulate the recipients of the 2025 3M National Teaching Fellowship Award:

Taiwo Afolabi, Department of Media, Art and Performance, University of Regina

Stavroula Andreopoulos, Department of Biodiversity, University of Toronto

Rebecca Gagan, Department of English, University of Victoria

Ahmed Hieawy, Faculty of Dentistry, University of British Columbia

Stacey MacKinnon, Department of Psychology, University of Prince Edward Island

Steve MacNeil, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Wilfred Laurier University

W. Stephen McNeil, Department of Chemistry, University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus

Gabriel Potvin, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, University of British Columbia

Saskia Stinson, Department of University and Employment Preparation, Thompson Rivers University

Leanne Taylor, Faculty of Education, Brock University

The 3M National Teaching Fellowship is co-sponsored by 3M Canada and the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE). Founded in 1986, the Fellowship honours exceptional contributions to teaching and learning at the post-secondary level.

"On behalf of STLHE, I extend our heartfelt congratulations to this year's award-winning educators. Their dedication to the scholarship of teaching and learning not only enriches student experiences but also advances a culture of academic distinction. These scholars exemplify the highest standards of innovation, inquiry, and impact in teaching." — Patrick Maher, *STLHE Chair of the Board*

"We are honoured to recognize this year's award recipients for their outstanding contributions to the scholarship of teaching and learning. Through their thoughtful and research-informed approaches, these

www.stlhe.ca admin@stlhe.ca



educators are transforming the learning experience and shaping the future of higher education. Their leadership in higher education enriches the academic experience and inspires a culture of continual learning and improvement. At 3M Canada, we are proud to celebrate their dedication and impact." — Marie-Claude Brandys, *3M Canada Country Governance Leader*

The 2025 3M National Teaching Fellowship Award recipients are not only excellent educators but also leaders, both nationally and internationally, at their institutions and within their professional communities.

Award recipients each receive a two-year membership to STLHE and are invited to a retreat with their cohort, where they can share knowledge and create synergies to further promote leadership and excellence in teaching and learning.

STLHE and 3M Canada will officially welcome these amazing educators into the Fellowship at the STLHE conference, which will be hosted in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, from June 10th - June 13, 2025.

-30-

The official announcement of the 2025 winners can be found at:

Additional information on the 3M National Teaching Fellows Award can be found at: https://www.stlhe.ca/awards/3m-national-teaching-fellowship/

Additional information about 3M Canada can be found at: <u>https://www.3mcanada.ca/3M/en_CA/company-</u> ca/

For more information, please contact: Natalie Speth STLHE Communications communications@stlhe.ca

+1 (902) 367-3532 5707 St Peters Rd, St Peters Bay, PE COA 2A0 www.stlhe.ca admin@stlhe.ca