

Council of 3M National Teaching Fellows Conseil des lauréats nationaux 3M en enseignement



MARCH 2013 COMMUNIQUE

3M Council Executive—Elizabeth Wells (Chair), Lisa Dickson, Esther Enns, Jon Houseman, Glen Loppnow, Maureen Mancuso, Ron Marken, Sylvia Avery

In December, our Executive met at McMaster University in Hamilton (with some folks joining by videoconference) for a day of intensive brainstorming, planning, and visioning. You will soon be hearing about some new initiatives and projects coming out of our very successful and productive meeting.

A NEW LOGO—The Executive approved a new logo to represent the Council and it appears at the top of this communique. This logo will be used on our communications and website to help distinguish the Council and its activities from those of the Award itself. This visual identity will help us in our efforts to raise the visibility of the Council and its projects and to seek strategic partners for our initiatives.

WELCOME TO MY CLASSROOM—Thanks go to all the Fellows who volunteered for the Working Group on the "Welcome to My Classroom" sessions at the STLHE Conference in Montreal last summer. We had an overwhelming response to our call for participation, and have filled the working group's five members with the following Fellows: Jon Houseman (2007), Chair; Roger Moore (2000), Rhonda Amsel (2002), and Alan Gilmor (1995). Four "Welcome to My Classroom" sessions will be featured during the upcoming STLHE 2013 Conference at Cape Breton University this June.

3M SCHOLARLY RETREAT—For 25 years, 3M Canada has hosted the 3M Retreat at the Fairmont Chateau Montebello in Quebec; the "Montebello Experience" has earned symbolic force. In 2011, the Retreat was moved to the Banff Springs Hotel in Banff, Alberta. The inspiring atmosphere of mountain vistas and a castle-like hotel is now the reward. Intense conversations, gourmet meals, skiing, a gondola lift inspire the Fellows to leave the Retreat rejuvenated and, to use their favourite word, "transformed."

NEW BYLAWS—To read the by-laws, click here. With our new vision and mission, we are poised to take the Council to the next level of visibility and action.

When you won your Award, how did your institution and community celebrate or publicize this event?

Soon you will be receiving a short survey from the Council Executive on this subject. We are working on projects to help institutions and 3M Fellows recognize and spread the word about new members of the Fellowship through communications offices, Educational Development Centres, senior administration, and home departments. Your responses to this short survey will help us identify ways in which the Council can support institutions in recognizing and celebrating the 3M National Teaching Fellowship.

YOUR STLHE MEMBERSHIP—The Fellowship came with a retreat and lifetime membership, but it has given us so much more. We invite you to make a voluntary contribution of about \$100 for STLHE membership and \$45 to sustain the 3M Council. Your support will go a long way to realize the forward momentum you have helped to build—it's vital to our effectiveness. Click here to complete the online form and make your payment.

CONGRATULATIONS AND WELCOME—The 3M Council Executive congratulates this year's cohort of 3M National Teaching Fellows:

Joan Conrod, Dalhousie University
Shelagh Crooks, Saint Mary's University
Darren Dahl, University of British Columbia
Simon Ellis, University of British Columbia
Kim Misfeldt, University of Alberta (Augustana)
Mark Goldszmidt, Western University
June Ann Larkin, University of Toronto
Colin Laroque, Mount Allison University
Jordan LeBel, Concordia University
Heather Zwicker, University of Alberta

We look forward to meeting you in person in June.