The Educational Developers Caucus (EDC) Corner

Nicola Simmons, EDC Chair, University of Waterloo

The Caucus is a diverse, collegial community that shares ideas and resources informally in support of educational development across Canada. We provide professional development opportunities for members – conferences, Resource Bulletins, and new this year, our first Educational Developers Institute in February. In addition, we provide grants in support of teaching and learning. Visit the Caucus at <u>www.edcaucus.com</u>

Who Are We?

The majority of the 125 EDC members identify primarily as Educational Developers (N=36) working in centres, Directors (N=29) are second, followed very closely by faculty members (N=27). Other groups include Associate Directors (N=9), administrators (N=7), and independent developers (not working in a teaching centre or not specified)(N=7). The smallest two categories (not labelled on the graph) are students (N=3) and Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (N=1). Our 125 members are an eclectic group of people interested in the enhancement of teaching and learning approaches.



EDC 2010 Membership Breakdown

Fourteen of the 125 are from colleges, two are from Francophone universities, and the remainder are at universities. We are also pleased to welcome eight international EDC members.

EDC Grants

In our most recent competitive, peer reviewed grants process, three new multi-partner projects from a diverse range of institutions were awarded grants for the scholarship of teaching and learning in higher education. Our warmest congratulations and appreciation goes to these colleagues for their work towards strengthening teaching and learning practices.

Faculty Cyber Connections: Building on Best Practices (Phase One)

Christine Foster, Janice MacMillan, Faith Ratchford, Francine Chartrand, Jo Anne Wilson, Danielle Van Dreunen

SoTL Portal: Connecting Researchers

Gary Hunt, Peter Arthur, Sylvia Currie, Heather Hurren, Janine Hirtz

Queen's Academic Leadership Program

Denise Stockley, Penina Lam, Jacoba DeVos, Ben Kutsyuruba, Sheila Pinchin, Ruth Rees, Doug Reid