News & Updates

2017 3M National Student Fellows

2017 3M National Student Fellows

Top: Laura Yvonne Bulk, Jacky Chan, Naina Garg, Erin Hayward, Bai Bintou Kaira.
Bottom: Aakriti Kapoor, Sarah Khan, Anika Riopel, Caitlin Salvino, Jory Smallenberg.

3M Canada and the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education are delighted to introduce the recipients of the 2017 3M National Student Fellowship:

  • Laura Yvonne Bulk, Rehabilitation Science, University of British Columbia
  • Jacky Chan, Education, Lakehead University
  • Naina Garg, Economics and Finance, Saint Mary’s University
  • Erin Hayward, Environmental and Life Sciences, Trent University
  • Bai Bintou Kaira, Chemical Engineering, Dalhousie University
  • Aakriti Kapoor, Education, University of Toronto
  • Sarah Khan, Biochemistry, University of Victoria
  • Anika Riopel, Theatre Arts and Environment, Sustainability & Society, Dalhousie University
  • Caitlin Salvino, Human Rights and Transnational Law, Carleton University
  • Jory Smallenberg, Sociology, University of British Columbia

The 3M National Student Fellowship Award was introduced in 2012 to honour undergraduate students in Canada who have demonstrated qualities of outstanding leadership and who embrace a vision where the quality of their educational experience can be enhanced in academia and beyond. Each candidate provided us with their definition of leadership in the context of his or her educational experience. We also asked applicants to explain why they aspired to leadership roles and to share a challenge in post-secondary education along with a proposed solution.

This partnership between 3M Canada and STLHE is an exciting opportunity for students across Canada to distinguish themselves as part of a unique learning community.

Please help us to congratulate these students, all the nominees, and their institutions on this national achievement!

The official press releases (English and French) are available on the STLHE home page. Use these links to learn more about the 2017 3M National Student Fellows, the 3M National Student Fellowship Award, and meet the 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 Student Fellows.

Maureen Connolly, 3M National Student Fellows Award Coordinator
Robert Lapp, President – STLHE

Comments are closed.