Christopher Knapper Lifetime Achievement Award


In 2002, STLHE created this award to honour individuals who have, over their career, made significant contributions to teaching, learning and educational development in Canadian higher education. The first recipient, Christopher Knapper, was the founding president of STLHE and a member of the Society’s Board of Directors for 20 years.

Call for Nominations

  • The award is offered every two years and a call for nominations is circulated to all STLHE members in October of the year in question, and posted to the STLHE and IDO listservs.  Any member of the Society may make a nomination.
  • The nomination should comprise a brief of no more than three pages, which may include a summary of letters of support received from colleagues.  Although additional material may be appended if necessary, the committee’s decision will be made primarily on the basis of the three-page summary.
  • Service to the Society will be an important factor considered by the Selection Committee.
  • Nominees will normally, but not necessarily, be a member of STLHE.

Selection Procedure

Nominations will be reviewed by a sub-committee appointed by the STLHE Board of Directors, and comprising one or more past-presidents of STLHE and two other long-serving members of the Society. Each Committee member serves for a minimum of two years.

Nature of Award

The recipient of the award is invited to attend the June STLHE conference, with travel expenses paid, and to make the special “Knapper Award” presentation.  In addition the awardee is presented with a citation and small gift and becomes a lifetime member of STLHE.

Selection Committee

  • Alan Wright (Chair)
  • Stephanie Chiu
  • Mary Wilson
  • Carole Davis

Past awardees

  • Christopher Knapper, 2002
  • Harry Murray, 2004
  • Bente Roed, 2006
  • Dale Roy 2008
  • Gary Poole and Cynthia Weston, 2010
  • Alan Wright, 2013
  • Debra Dawson, 2016
  • Lynn Taylor, 2018


The completed nomination and supporting documentation should be submitted in a single PDF file, on or before 28 February 2018, through the STLHE depository

All applications received in the depository ( will be acknowledged upon receipt by an automated return email reply so applicants will know their submissions have been received.

Please note: if you have not received an acknowledgement of receipt of the nomination within 10 days of filing, please contact the Award Coordinator.


Please address your questions regarding the Lifetime Achievement Award by email to Committee Chair Alan Wright, Vice-Provost, Teaching and Learning, University of Windsor.