2016 3M National Teaching Fellowship

2016 3M National Teaching Fellowship

Top: David Blades, Andrea Buchholz, Andrew Dicks, Allyson Jule, Maja Krzic.
Lower: Ken MacMillan, Veronika Mogyorody, Martin Schreiber, Bruce Wainman, Eileen Wood.

3M Canada and the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education are delighted to introduce this year’s 3M National Teaching Fellows:
  • David Blades, Department of Curriculum and Instruction,
    University of Victoria;
  • Andrea Buchholz, Family Relations and Applied Nutrition,
    University of Guelph;
  • Andrew Dicks, Chemistry, University of Toronto;
  • Allyson Jule, Trinity Western University;
  • Maja Krzic, Soil Science, Applied Biology, University of British Columbia;
  • Ken MacMillan, History, University of Calgary;
  • Veronika Mogyorody, School of Creative Arts, University of Windsor;
  • Martin Schreiber, Medicine, University of Toronto;
  • Bruce Wainman, Pathology and Molecular Medicine, McMaster University;
  • Eileen Wood, Psychology, Wilfrid Laurier University.

Established in 1986, the 3M National Teaching Fellowship is sponsored jointly by 3M Canada and the Society for Teaching and Learn¬ing in Higher Education (STLHE). The Fellowship is a remarkable example of private sector and not-for-profit educational cooperation and has earned an enviable national and international reputation. It is the only pan-Canadian, cross-disciplinary recognition of educational leadership and excellence in university teaching. The Fellowship recognises university teachers who have demonstrated:

  • leadership in enhancing post-secondary teaching excellence locally, nationally, and often internationally; and
  • superlative undergraduate teaching, sustained over several years.

The 3M National Teaching Fellowship is unique. Fellows receive no tangible rewards, no money or research grants. Instead, they are given a lifetime membership in STLHE and a four-day study retreat together at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel in November. They also join a vibrant and energetic Fellowship of over 300 dedicated and inspiring leaders and teachers who have helped shape university education in Canada for almost three decades.

STLHE and 3M Canada will officially welcome these ten extraordinary university teachers into the Fellowship at its annual conference, hosted this year by the Western University and Fanshawe College in London.

Read more about this year’s Fellows in Maclean’s magazine in stores today, or on the 2016 3M Fellows page on the STLHE website. Use the following links to learn more about the 3M National Teaching Fellows Award and the Council of 3M National Teaching Fellows.

Shannon Murray, 3M National Teaching Fellows Award Coordinator
Robert Lapp, President – STLHE