2015 3M National Teaching Fellowship

2015 3M National Teaching Fellowship

Top: Anne Bigelow, Etienne Coté, David Creelman, Sara Harris, Steve Joordens.
Lower: Veselin Jungic, Peter Ostafichuk, Jessica Riddell, Pamela Toulouse, Jin-Sun Yoon

3M Canada and the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education are delighted to introduce this year’s 3M National Teaching Fellows:
  • Ann Bigelow, Department of Psychology, St. Francis Xavier University;
  • Etienne Côté, Atlantic Veterinary College, University of Prince Edward Island;
  • David Creelman, Department of Humanities and Languages, University of New Brunswick, Saint John;
  • Sara Harris, Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences, University of British Columbia;
  • Steve Joordens, Department of Psychology, Université de Toronto;
  • Veselin Jungic, Department of Mathematics, Simon Fraser University;
  • Peter Ostafichuk, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of British Columbia;
  • Jessica Riddell, English, Bishop’s University;
  • Pamela Toulouse, School of Education, Laurentian University;
  • Jin-Sun Yoon, School of Child and Youth Care, University of Victoria.

Established in 1986, the 3M National Teaching Fellowship is sponsored jointly by 3M Canada and the Society for Teaching and Learn¬ing in Higher Education (STLHE). The Fellowship is a remarkable example of private sector and not-for-profit educational cooperation and has earned an enviable national and international reputation. It is the only pan-Canadian, cross-disciplinary recognition of educational leadership and excellence in university teaching. The Fellowship recognises university teachers who have demonstrated:

  • superlative undergraduate teaching, sustained over several years; and
  • leadership in enhancing post-secondary teaching excellence locally, nationally, and often internationally.

The 3M National Teaching Fellowship is unique. Fellows receive no tangible rewards, no money or research grants. Instead, they are given a lifetime membership in STLHE and a four-day study retreat together at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel in November. They also join a vibrant and energetic Fellowship of over 290 dedicated and inspiring leaders and teachers who have helped shape university education in Canada for almost three decades.

STLHE and 3M Canada will officially welcome these ten extraordinary university teachers into the Fellowship at its annual conference, hosted this year by the University of British Columbia and Simon Fraser University.

Read more about this year’s Fellows in Maclean’s magazine in stores today, or on the 2015 3M Fellows page on the STLHE website. Use the following links to learn more about the 3M National Teaching Fellows Award and the Council of 3M National Teaching Fellows.

Shannon Murray, 3M National Teaching Fellows Award Coordinator
Robert Lapp, President – STLHE