3M National Teaching Fellowship


The 3M National Teaching Fellowship is Canada’s most prestigious recognition of excellence in educational leadership and teaching at the post-secondary level.

In 1986, the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) and 3M Canada partnered to recognize exceptional contributions to teaching and learning in Canadian post-secondary education. The community of 3M National Teaching Fellows embodies the highest ideals of teaching excellence and scholarship with a commitment to encourage and support the educational experience of every learner.

Up to 10 Fellows are selected annually.

Canada now has more than 340 3M National Teaching Fellows, representing a broad range of academic disciplines from more than 80 small and large Canadian post-secondary institutions. After joining the Fellowship, Fellows continue to elevate teaching and learning at their own institutions and through larger, collaborative initiatives supported by 3M Canada, STLHE, and the Council of 3M Fellows, a constituent group within STLHE.



The Fellowship is open to any individual currently teaching at a Canadian university or college, regardless of discipline, program, level, or term of appointment. All post-secondary institutions in Canada (universities, colleges, cégeps, polytechnics, and other provincially and/or federally recognized institutes of higher education) are included.

Nominees need not be members of STLHE.


General Information

The Call for Nominations is distributed by email to the offices of the Provosts and Vice-Presidents (Academic) at Canadian post-secondary institutions, to Educational Development Centres, and to members of STLHE.

A nominator must be at a Canadian post-secondary institution. 

In recognition of the systemic conditions of disadvantage in higher education and society, we encourage nominations of members of groups that have been historically disadvantaged and marginalized, including First Nations, Metis, and Inuit peoples, Indigenous peoples of North America, racialized persons, persons with disabilities, and those who identify as women and/or 2SLGBTQI.

Nominations in both English and French are welcome.