2013 Adjudicators/Assistance

The 3M NSF has benefited greatly from a large community:

We are grateful to our 2013 team of adjudicators, who carefully read nominations and made detailed notes that helped us in the difficult task of choosing only 10 winners. Adjudicators included students (both graduate and undergraduate, including 2012 3M National Student Fellows, faculty (including 3M National Teaching Fellows) and others.

  • Kim Brooks, Dalhousie University
  • Jean Burrows, Dalhousie University
  • Alice Cassidy, University of British Columbia
  • Anthony Clarke, University of British Columbia
  • Selena Demenoff, University of Northern British Columbia
  • Mandy Frake-Mistak, York University
  • Sorel Friedman, Université de Montréal
  • Pascal Genest-Richard, MacDonald College of McGill University
  • Laura Goldstein, York University
  • Carolyn Hoessler, University of Saskatchewan
  • Gary Hunt, Thompson Rivers University
  • Barbara Kerr, Ontario Institute of Technology
  • Jolène Labbé , University of Guelph
  • Mimi Liu, University of Toronto
  • Valerie Lopes, Seneca College
  • Sean Maw, Mount Royal University
  • Ken Meadows, University of Western Ontario
  • Janice Miller-Young, Mount Royal University
  • Shannon Murray, University of Prince Edward Island
  • Alannah Robinson, University of Waterloo
  • Baljit Singh, University of Saskatchewan
  • Roselynn Verwoord, University of British Columbia

We are grateful to many other dedicated folks who helped us out in a variety of ways, including: 

3M NSF Coordination Team

  • Mandy Frake-Mistak
  • Laura Goldstein
  • Barbara Kerr
  • Valerie Lopes
  • Shannon Murray (who all also adjudicated, institutions listed above)
  • Natalie Gerum, Lakehead University
  • Kari Marken, University of British Columbia


  • Angie Kolen, Awards Chair
  • Arshad Ahmad, President
  • Sylvia Avery and Muriel McKay, Head Office
  • Sean Conley, graduate student, McMaster University

3M National Teaching Fellows

  • Elizabeth Wells, Chair, Executive of the Council of 3M National Teaching Fellows
  • Ron Marken, Program Coordinator, 3M National Teaching Fellows

Assistance with Local Arrangements

Sylvia Clements, Heather Davey, Shauna Walters and the STLHE Organizing Committee, Cape Breton University 

Thanks everyone!
Alice Cassidy, Coordinator, 3M National Student Fellowship