2015 Brightspace Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning Winners

2015 Brightspace Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning Winners


Peggy Hartwick, John Kleefeld, Veronika Mogyorody, Diane Reddy, Alexsandra Zecevic

The Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) and  D2L are thrilled to announce the five outstanding  post-secondary educators who have been named winners of the 2015 Brightspace  Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning:


  • Peggy Hartwick, School of Linguistics and Language Studies, Carleton University;
  • John Kleefeld, College of Law, University of Saskatchewan;
  • Veronika Mogyorody, Visual Arts and the Built Environment, University  of Windsor;
  • Diane Reddy, Psychology, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee; and
  • Aleksandra Zecevic, School of Health Sciences, Western University

Each year, the international Brightspace  Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning identifies and celebrates innovative,  thought provoking, and impactful teaching and learning practices by passionate post-secondary educators.

“D2L champions innovators in education and is delighted to see what these five leaders have done with teaching and engaging learners,” said John Baker, President and CEO of D2L. “They
have demonstrated leadership, creativity and a passion for student-centred teaching and learning approaches and their work has been key to helping learners achieve success.”

This year’s innovations featured a wide range of approaches that were both technological and pedagogical. From transforming how students learn English through immersion in a 3D virtual world, to self-paced, personalized and authentic online learning in psychology, and the holistic
integration of simulations, authentic assessments and creativity into experiential  learning in law, these outstanding educators have consistently demonstrated a passion for embracing inventiveness in their student-centered teaching.

“These five educators brilliantly showcase how creativity and innovation can provide deep and impactful learning to learners,” says STLHE President Robert Lapp. “Peggy, John, Veronika, Diane, and Aleksandra are shinning examples of the student-centered values that both STLHE and D2L encourage, support, and develop.”

A diverse group of 10 highly experienced post-secondary educators selected the winners, who will be recognized at the 2015 STLHE Annual Conference, June 16–19 in Vancouver, and at
Fusion, the Brightspace Global Conference, June 22–26 in Orlando, Fla.

Each of the five winners will receive a two-year membership in STLHE as well as $2,200 toward travel and registration costs for both STLHE’s Annual Conference and Fusion.

Use these links to learn more about the 2016 recipients of the Brightspace Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning and the Brightspace Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning.

Patrick Lyons, Brightspace Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning Award Coordinator
Robert Lapp, President – STLHE


About The Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE)
STLHE strives to be the pre-eminent national voice and a world leader for enhancing teaching and learning in higher education. STLHE supports research, its dissemination, increased awareness and application of research through scholarly teaching and learning. Visit www.stlhe.ca for more information.

About D2L
A global leader in EdTech, D2L is the creator of the Brightspace learning platform. The company partners with thought-leading organizations to improve learning through data-driven technology that helps deliver a personalized experience to every learner, regardless of geography or ability. D2L’s open and extensible platform is used by more than 1,100 clients and almost 15 million individual learners in higher education, K–12, healthcare, government, and the enterprise sector—including Fortune 1000 companies. The company has operations in the United States, Canada, Europe, Australia, Brazil, and Singapore. www.brightspace.com | www.D2L.com