STLHE > Awards > D2L Innovation Award

D2L Innovation Award

About the Award

Established in 2012, the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, sponsored by Brightspace (formerly known as Desire2Learn), celebrates and recognizes up to five post-secondary educators each year for their innovative approaches that promote student-centred teaching and learning.

Award recipients receive the following:

1) $1,200 for registration and travel to attend Brightspace’s FUSION Conference, with this year’s conference being held in Orlando, Florida on June 22-26, 2015.

2) $1,000 for registration and travel to attend STLHE’s Annual Conference

3) Two year membership in STLHE


Eligibility and Criteria

The D2L Innovation Award is open to all instructors currently teaching at a post-secondary institution, regardless of discipline, level, or term of appointment. Unique among the STLHE awards is that the D2L award is international and open to applicants from all countries; however, applications will only be accepted in French or English. Candidates do not need to be members of STLHE to apply.

Please note that the D2L Innovation Award is for individual achievement. Teams of instructors will not be considered. STLHE encourages team-based teaching and learning approaches and initiatives through the Alan Blizzard Award.

Applications are invited from individuals with a demonstrable record of innovation(s) in areas including pedagogical approaches, teaching methods, course design, curriculum development, assessment methods, and various tools or technologies that enhance learning and have had a significant impact on post-secondary education.


Call for Applications/Deadline

STLHE and Brightspace invite submissions for the 2015 Desire2Learn Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning.

The deadline to submit an application package is Sunday, March 1, 2015, 11:59 pm EST.

2015 D2L Innovation Award Call for Nominations Poster

2015 D2L Innovation Award Application Form


For quick reference, award recipients’ names are listed below by year. For detailed information about each recipient please view award recipients by year via the navigation menu at the left.

Dr. Christopher Buddle
Associate Professor, Department of Natural Resource Sciences
McGill University

Dr. Brent Mainprize
Teaching Professor, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business
University of Victoria

Dr. Marco Pollanen
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics
Trent University

Dr. Elaine Khoo
Senior Lecturer, English Language Development Centre
University of Toronto

Dr. Ken Van Rees
Professor, Department of Soil Science
University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Sandra Bassendowski
Professor, Nursing
University of Saskatchewan

Shawn Graham
Assistant Professor, History
Carleton University

Jacqueline Murray
Director, First-Year Seminar Program
University of Guelph

Trent Tucker
Anne Lockie and Frederic Promoli Professor, Transformational Learning
University of Guelph

Ellen Zweibel
Professor, Law
University of Ottawa

Tetyana Antimirova
Associate Professor, Department of Physics
Ryerson University

Alison Flynn
Science Lecturer, Department of Chemistry
University of Ottawa

Joe Shapter
Dean, Flinders University
School of Chemical and Physical Sciences

Robert Sproule
Lecturer, School of Accounting and Finance
University of Waterloo

Jay Wilson
Assistant Professor, College of Education
University of Saskatchewan




For enquiries regarding the D2L Innovation Award, please contact Patrick Lyons .
Desire2Learn Award Coordinator.

photo of patrick lyons